Lyme Regis Sailing Club Annual Dinner and Presentation of Trophies

Commodore Jerry Rook, accompanied by his wife Pauline, welcomed 80 club members on Saturday evening for the annual dinner and prize giving at the Lyme Regis Golf Club.

Guests included dinghy and cruiser sailors, with a large contingent of youth members.

MC Rear Commodore Alan Cottis took charge of proceedings, speeches and presentations followed the dinner and toasts.

The Commodore spoke of a successful season which saw good turn outs on the water. Jerry thanked all who had made great efforts to support and contribute to their club.

Trophies were announced by Rob Walker, Sailing Secretary Cruising, and Cameron Moss, Sailing Secretary Racing. Youth members attending received their trophies again – Ariana Finn, Simon Law, Jack Young and Natasha Dower. Youngest of the winners was Ed Stubbs who has recently won a place in the SW Optimist race training Squad.

While most trophies were contested competitively, some were awarded by the Commodore or Sailing Secretaries. Awards included the John Lee trophy for making the longest cruise, (this year to Chris Joyner), the Alan Pugh for enjoyment of cruising and the Holman Trophy for race management (to Andy Robinson).

The Clanger went to Fraser Earle and Katie Frost and the Capsize Bucket to Colin Walters and Simon Law, both accompanied by amusing anecdotes.

The coveted Sportsman’s Trophy was awarded to Tony Fastnedge for his consistent contributions of technical expertise and seamanship to the club’s major championship events.

Presentations of flowers were made by Vice Commodore Dave Stubbs to Suzanne James, Fern Cottis, Jo Law and Sally Holman.

Dancing until midnight followed the presentations.


Photo Sally Holman/David Beer

Award winners, including Ed Stubbs and Ariana Finn, front centre, Natasha Dower front second from left, Cameron Moss front fourth from left, Simon Law front third from right, Chris Joyner front right.


Lyme Regis Sailing Club Trophy Winners 2018

Dinghy Section:

Coronation Cup- Andy Robinson


Asymmetric Series

Gifford Plaque

Asymmetric Early Summer Series

Mike Pitt Pint

RNLI Pennant 

Late Spring Series

Late Summer Series – Cameron and Darrol Moss


Goodman Trophy- Dave Beer


George Heap Middle Distance 

Early Spring Series 

Asymmetric Wednesday Evening Series- Dave and Ed Stubbs


Dunn Cup- Fraser Earle 

October Series- Graham Cook 


Winter Series

Brass Monkeys

Wednesday Twilight Series – Guy Woodhouse 


Super Series- Jeff Vander Borght 


Early Summer Series

Albacore Super Series

GB Rose Cup

Wednesday Summer Series

RNLI Tankard 

Wednesday Spring Series – Jerry Rook and Jake Stow


Commodore’s Pursuit Cup

Easter Egg Cup

Autumn Series 

National 18 Cup

Saturday Series – Jon Turner and Katie Frost


Asymmetric Late Summer Series – Simon Boyle

Mid-Summer Series – Simon Heusen

Improvers’ Award – Richard and Oliver Gambie

Commodore’s Persistence Award – Stephan Laeger

Capsize Bucket- Colin Walters and Simon Law

Holman Trophy for Race Management – Andy Robinson

Sportsman’s Trophy for service to the club – Tony Fastnedge

Clanger Trophy – Fraser Earl and Katie Frost


Cruiser Section:

Up Anchors Cup and Juby Wiscombe Trophy–  Peter Thomas

LRSC Lift-keel Cup and Brian Dale Single Handed Trophy –  Rob and Sharyn Walker

Cruiser Series Weds evening Cup   –  Richard Salt

Cruiser Scraper, Weymouth Cup, John Chase RNLI Trophy  –  Rob and Margaret Wiscombe


Discretionary Trophies:

Alan Pugh Trophy for enjoyment –  Philip and Ann Gunn

John Lee Trophy for long distance sailing –  Chris Joyner and crews