Coronation Cup

Sailed in conditions where the vagaries of the wind, described more politely by sailors as a ‘vicar’s hat wind’, controlled the progress of the fleet with a dominating effect, the long distance Coronation Cup saw a mixed fleet of 18 dinghies competing.

Race officer Ian Wallace opted for a traditional wall start, giving interest for spectators who could see and hear the flags and hooters which set the dinghies off. It is a while since this formerly common sight has been seen in Lyme, as windward starts are preferred, but it worked well in the unreliable NE breeze, with a beat from the south mark to follow.

Two laps of a course to the Charmouth sewer buoy and back gave a race lasting up to two and a half hours for the tail enders, although the leaders finished much more quickly. The holes in the wind caused some frustration, but a mixture of 6 classes took the first 7 places with the only single-hander among them, Hilton Davis, finishing second.

The winner was Merlin sailor Jon Turner, crewed by youth member Katie Frost who has been training hard with Jon, with Jerry Rook’s Albacore, helmed by youth member Max Smith, in third place.

Following the morning’s racing, 5 lift keel boats left their moorings on the tide and competed with Rob and Margaret Wiscombe leading the fleet home, followed by Sharyn and Rob Wlaker. Results are to be computed to find the placings, as both Parkers and Medinas were racing.

The season has got off to a good start and seen high turnouts with the young Optimists having their own races and average lap calculations allowing everyone to sail for approximately the same length of time whatever their class handicap. Training for youth sailors takes place on Tuesdays and Saturdays, with racing on Wednesday evenings and Sundays.

The club is preparing to run a lively major championships this August for the Fireball class, with 85 – plus entries expected, the list already includes over 20 from European countries.

Coronation Cup Results – Dinghies

  1. Jon Turner and Katie Frost, Merlin Rocket
  2. Hilton Davis, K1
  3. Max Smith and Jerry Rook, Albacore
  4. Stuart Gurney and Eveyln Toogood, Albacore
  5. Dave Stubbs and Paul Aitken, RS400
  6. Tony Fastnedge and Dave Guthrie, 5o5.