Club holds 97th Sailing Regatta as part of Lyme’s Regatta and Carnival 2018

With a long history stretching back 97 years, Lyme Regis Sailing Club held its annual sailing Regatta races over the weekend in bright sunshine and sparkling flat sea.

A light easterly breeze on Saturday lunchtime set officer of the day Dan Alsop a difficult task with a big wind shift as the sea breeze filled in from the opposite direction mid-way through the first series race, but with 4 classes on separate starts, course changes were not possible. Christian Birrell with Sam Berry finished first in the Fast Handicap class and Andrew Snell in the Medium Handicap. The second race, when the sea breeze had filled in, proved the best of the weekend and saw Andrew win his class again, but Cameron and Darrol Moss took the faster class. From there Mike and Jane Calvert, top Merlin sailors from Axe YC who will be back for the Merlin Nationals here in August, won the remaining fast series races to take the class prize. The Cruiser class was won by Medina sailors Mike Moore and Andrew Willoughby, although Pete Thomas’s attractive boat just pipped them into last place in race 5 which favoured the faster, lighter dinghies.

33 entries for the Regatta included 12 visitors, one sailing up from Axe to take part in the traditional Championship of the Day, a handicap race open to all. Officer of the Day Simon Clark had to recall two early starters, all completed two laps.

The Championship was held in fading breezes on Sunday afternoon and won by ASA sailor Andrew Snell in his K1, 2 minutes ahead of Mike and Jane who split the remaining K1 class in places 3 to 8.

Andrew sails for the Army and attends many open meetings all over the country. At the prize giving which followed with presentations by the Commodore, he thanked the race teams and club, saying that he always enjoyed Lyme, its warm welcome and great sailing waters.

Alan Vian and Paul Oatley attended to receive a donation from the Commodore Jerry Rook to Lyme Regatta and Carnival committee.

Regatta Series Fast Handicap

1. Mike and Jane Calvert, Axe YC, Merlin Rocket
2. Kevin Hope and Russell Thorne, LRSC, Fireball
3. Joe and Hannah Joyner, LRSC, RS 800
4. Allan and Christina Tyler, LRSC, Fireball

Regatta Series Medium Handicap

1. Andrew Snell, ASA, K1
2. Michael Commander, Teign Corinthian, K1
3. Guy Woodhouse, LRSC , K1
4. Jerry Rook and Jake Stow, LRSC, Albacore


1. Mike Moore and Andrew Willoughby, LRSC, Medina
2. Pete Thomas with Judith Burke, Dan Burke, Shiggy Takezoe, LRSC, Bay Raider Expedition

Championship of the Day

1.  Andrew Snell, ASA, K1
2. Mike and Jane Calvert, Axe YC, Merlin Rocket
3. Michael Commander, Teign Corinthian, K1
4. Hugh Duncan, LRSC, K1
5. Guy Woodhouse, LRSC, K1
6. Tony Fastnedge, LRSC, K1

Tacking for clear wind off the start line, committee boat left


Alan And Paul receive donation from Commodore Jerry Rook


Commodore with Champion of the Day and winner of Medium Handicap class Andrew Snell


Mike and Jane Calvert win the Fast Handicap Class


Mike Moore and Andrew Willoughby, winners of Cruiser class at the presentation 


Pete Thomas and crew

image1 (1)

Cameron and Joe lap slower boats